Soapbox2's Weblog

T. Marie's little Soapbox

Do You Know?

1 Comment

To me the awesome thing about God is that He usually reveals the most amazing lessons or pearls of wisdom when I am not even looking for it through the medium of entertainment. In watching this past Thursday’s episode of Grey’s Anatomy I got the biggest revelation. Since I first started watching Grey’s, way back when, Cristina Yang (portrayed by Sandra Oh) has always been my favorite character; maybe because I see a lot of similarities between the both of us.

Well if you missed it and want to see it, the episode is called “Do You Know” and I will do my best not to spoil it. If you are not a fan of Grey’s you can still get some out of this revelation that I was blessed with. In a nutshell Cristina learns that a split second decision could send a person’s life in a different direction. Throughout the episode she experiences both sides of this realization. Her revelation assists her in rethinking her choices and in the process it affects the lives of those around her. Now how often do we really think about how the decisions that we make directly affect the life of someone that we are connected to? Our decisions will not only change the outcome of our lives but the outcome of the lives of people we love.

If only making life decisions was like television and we could have a do over.

Now in the episode Cristina asks the following questions that I am presenting to you.

– Do you know who you are?
– Do you understand what has happened to you?
– Do you want to live this way?

Cristina goes on to say that it only takes one person, one moment to change your life, your perspective or to color your thinking to force you to reevaluate.

Are you thinking yet? I hope so.

The entire episode had me reflecting and I thought that overall it was so powerful that at times I had to frequently stop the dvr to allow my mind the opportunity to slow down. How often do we take the time to reflect prior to a decision and look ahead and see how that decision could possibly alter the rest of our lives and the lives that we are connected to? Let me give you an example.

I might catch some backlash from this but truth is truth. I love my father. A small funny man and I am about 100% sure that he is the reason for my sarcastic and funny sense of humor. As a child he allowed me to watch and listen to comics like Redd Foxx, Richard Pryor, and Eddie Murphy and since then I have always had an adult sense of humor. My dad is a veteran and due to that status and my birthright I should be able to utilize his benefits to pursue higher education. After my parents’ divorce my father decided to live his life in a way that did not include his children. Due to addiction, anger and stubbornness he decided to not allow me to utilize his benefits. These benefits would have provided me with the opportunity to attend college. His decision to withhold that privilege, that resource that was made available complements of Uncle Sam for me placed me in a position of disadvantage. There was no college fund set up for me; I was not made aware of scholarships therefore I had to submit myself to Sallie Mae in order to pursue my studies.

Now his decision forced me to make a decision as a young adult. I had to decide how was I going to accomplish this degree thing. Therefore I took the option that was available. I have degrees now but I owe a lot of money. My educational debt is a result of his decision to prevent me from utilizing his benefits. Just think if he had decided to open that up for me I would be in a different place in my life with no educational debt. His choices changed my choices. His outcome altered my outcome.

I hope you see where I am going with this. This is just an example to get the wheels of your mind thinking. We are connected to one another and fulfill various roles in life. However the question is do you know who you are? Do you understand what has happened to you (good or bad) and do you want to live this way? Now what are you going to do about it? Are you going to make a different decision? Are you willing to make a decision that could possibly alter your life and the lives of those that you are connected to?

Now that you are thinking about your life and those questions lets not forget the last part of what Cristina said; it only takes one person, one moment to change your life, your perspective or to color your thinking to force you to reevaluate. How often do you reevaluate your life? Could you do it more? Could you be more purposeful?

All it takes is one. One is a powerful number. It took one teacher (Mrs. Lee) to encourage me to use my voice in writing. It took one woman (Ma Perri) to help me in trusting people. It took one friend (April) to remind me that laughter is usually the best medicine. It only takes one and all those individual moments can lead you to living one beautiful life.

So I hope you take time to evaluate your life, your perspective, your roles in this journey and how the decisions you make affect others. Because your one life can change the world.

Blessings 2 U!

t.

Author: Graffiti Soul

Activist, Lover of the Arts, Music Zombie & Old Soul.

One thought on “Do You Know?

  1. Great thought provoking post T !!!! Your insistence on the transformative power of one moment makes me think of a lot of things and one cliche thought is that TERRIBLE movie Butterfly Effect (2004) that builds a story around the ability to go back and change that one thing that changed the course or direction of one persons’ life like the anecdote you shared about your father and college funds. I too find great value in perspective that ONLY comes with time and the ability to think critically about decisions you have made and that others have made that impact where you are today.

    When things don’t go according “to plan” I default to a critical perspective in order to not get upset and sidetracked from the task at hand. I don’t watch Greys and often find the “moral of the story” moment at the end of the episode cliche yet often very affective in the sense that they often strike an emotional chord in our thinking/experience that causes reflection and thinking.

    The first thing that came to mind for me was this track by one of my favorite emcees Immortal Technique in a track that got me through writing my thesis in grad school part I…a track titled “Leaving the Past”==>

    Some people think I won’t make it
    but I know that I will
    Escape the emptiness
    cause that shit is slow and it kills
    the flow and the skill
    I made y’all believe it at last
    You can make the future
    but it starts with LEAVING THE PAST

    YEET

Leave a Reply

